Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GVMS Library: Databases and Digital Subscriptions

Welcome to Garnet Valley Middle School Library!

Tips

Don't forget to scroll down the page to see all possible options!

Logging into Databases

All access to our digital subscriptions, except for PowerLibrary (see the linked box to the right), is through Open Athens.

  • Login to your garnetvalley.org email address
  • Open Mail
  • Click on the "waffle" in the upper right corner
  • Scroll down and click "more"
  • Next to the NoodleTools app, you will see an app called Open Athens
  • Click Open Athens
  • Click on the link under "users" that says Login to MyAthens​
  • You will automatically be logged in and the databases will show as a list of "resources"
    • Note -- the Gale Cengage resources will ask you to "login via home institution" the first time you access through OA in order to link your email to the app.

There are digital subscriptions from multiple vendors available to you. All of these vendors are providing us with a variety of subscriptions in different subjects. If you are having trouble finding the right content for your needs or you are getting frustrated, come see the librarian. We are here to help you!

EBSCO Digital Libraries:

At the top of the EBSCO page, you have EBSCOhost Web. Using this option will allow you to search most of our EBSCO paid content at once. Sometimes this can be useful, but sometimes it can be overwhelming.

Points of View Reference Center -- 400 topics, each with an overview, point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Perfect for Pro/Con research

History Reference Center -- features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.

Literary Reference Center Plus -- full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Biography Reference Center --This database offers full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies.  

Poetry and Short Story Reference Center --This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques.

Gale Digital Libraries:

Academic OneFile -- search academic journals and magazines across multiple disciplines.

Twayne's Author Series - is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

Scribner Writers Series - provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.

General Science Collection - provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Testing and Education Resource Center - provides access to career information and exploration, practice materials for entrance and certification exams, online practice tests, college and scholarship search, and more.

Proquest Digital Libraries: US Major Dailies and historical archives - New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal.

Searching EBSCO Host

Open Access Journals on Science Direct

Science Direct provides access to a large number of science journal articles published as Open Access. Journal articles are also avaialble as single purchase reprints from paid scientific journals. Some purchase-only articles might be available via our paid databases. 

Digital Public Library of America

Tips and Tricks

Save articles to your Google Drive!

Proquest, EBSCO, and Gale all allow you to save article directly to folders in your Google drive. Save your research for easy access to your articles as well as proof of your research. Your files will represent a digital trail of your work.

Google Image Search

Images found using Google are not necessarily free to use! If you use images found through Google, make sure they are marked Creative Commons and read the usage guidelines to ensure your use fits within the parameters. Use of an image does NOT mean you don't need a citation. School districts have been sued for breaking copyright. Ask a librarian if you have questions.

PowerLibrary eResources

These can be accessed directly onsite at school or at home using a public library card number or an elibrary card number that you can easily request and receive via email. The resources can be downloaded directly to your Google drive for use later just like our other paid resources.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Safari Montage -- Streaming Video

Login by selecting "Garnet Valley School District" and your district login credentials.

World Book

Directory of Open Access Journals

Elsevier Science Direct -- Search for Open Access Science Articles

Our World in Data -- Oxford University